How Russians can fly to Europe and the US under sanctions in 2022

As we have already reported, 36 European countries, Canada and the United States have completely closed the airspace for all Russian aircraft, including private ones. But with a visa, Russians can now still enter the US, UK or Europe through third countries.


Consider the main flight options for Russian citizens to Europe and the USA.

The most convenient option for a transfer is Istanbul Airport, Turkey is open to Russians now without a visa.

For Russian aircraft, the airports of Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Doha are open, but the duration of the flight may increase.


From Turkey, the Emirates and Qatar, Russian citizens can fly to the USA, Great Britain, Mexico, Hungary, Croatia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Romania, Estonia.

From Russia you can fly to Armenia and Azerbaijan, then from the airports of these countries you can fly to Europe with local airlines Armenia, Azal, FlyOne, Buta and low-cost carrier Wizz Air.

From the airports of Tbilisi and Kutaisi, you can fly from Georgia to the EU countries by European air carriers.


The resorts of Madeira (Portugal), Tunisia, Jordan, Greece, and Cyprus are now open to Russians. You can get to these countries with transfers through all the above open airports.


Also, Russian aircraft are accepted by Israel, Egypt, India, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan. From Uzbekistan you can fly to the UK, USA, Georgia, Israel. And now you can fly from Kazakhstan to the UK, Georgia, Sri Lanka and Phuket (Thailand).